We have sent a reset password link to the registered email - Return To Login

This email address does not belong to a members account - Try Again

IARO Board

The Board is elected at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the organisation, which is usually held to coincide with a major conference or workshop.

All members are entitled to attend the AGM, and to speak and vote there. The date is announced in advance in IARO Express and members' newsletters'. Board members are elected on a rolling basis to serve for four years. The President is elected to serve two years and the Vice President also serves two years before election to President.

Minutes of the Board Meetings held in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018 are available in the Members Zone

Names, contact details and (where possible) a photo and brief biography of the current Board members are shown below.

President: Simon Earles
Simon Earles is Planning and Sustainability Director at Bristol Airport, UK 
E-mail: SEarles@bristolairport.com


Massimo Corradi  - Real Estate - Funding Programs, SEA Milan Airports
Massimo Corradi is TEN-T (Trans European Transport Network) Projects Coordinator for SEA Milan Airports.

He has more than 24-year experience in airport activities. He has worked for SEA’s Airport Infrastructural Development Dept., in charge with approval procedures and then has occupied the position of Land-Side Development & Airport Accessibility Manager, with the aim of improving the quality and the offer of transport services for passengers.

The first contact with IARO dates back to 2001 when he has been speaker at AIR/RAIL conference held in London – Heathrow Terminal 4.
In the last 12 years he has been engaged in strong lobbying activity aimed at raising awareness of “Malpensa Airport’s development plans” in the European Commission and the European Parliament that has finally secured 27.4 million grant funding from the Trans-European Networks Programme for the “Cargo City development” and the “MXPT2LINK-UP” project (new rail link T1-T2 at Malpensa Airport).

In year 2013 he has been External contributor to the “Report on intermodality” carried out by WG3 of the Community Observatory on Airport Capacity set up under the 2007 Commission's Action Plan.

He has experience in several foreign countries (Romania, Turkey, etc.) in the development of air / rail projects.

He his member of the Board of NETLIPSE (Network for the dissemination of knowledge on the management and organisation of Large Infrastructure Projects in Europe).
E-mail: massimo.corradi@seamilano.eu


Matthew Coogan - New England Transportation Institute

Mr. Coogan is currently serving as Director of the New England Transportation Institute, and also continues his practice as a consultant in transportation specializing in the application of intermodal and multimodal planning techniques. Most recently, Mr. Coogan has been appointed as an International Advisor to a new EU project entitled "A Knowledge Base for Intermodal Passenger Travel in Europe".

Over the past decade he has focused on the deployment of integrated multimodal mobility strategies, and the use of new information technologies in the implementation of those procedures. He graduated from Harvard College in 1969, and later served as a Loeb Fellow in Advanced Environmental Studies at Harvard's Graduate School of Design. Between 1970 and 1972 he helped establish and served on the Boston Transportation Planning Review, the first major multimodal transportation study in the United States. 

Between 1983 and 1991, Mr. Coogan served as Undersecretary of Transportation for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, and as Project Director of the Central Artery Tunnel Project. He was appointed by the National Academy of Science to both the Committee on High Speed Ground Transportation and the Committee to Critique the National Maglev Initiative. He has lectured on transportation issues throughout the United States, and in Europe and Asia. He has been featured in Engineering News Record, Architectural Record, The New York Times, Bloomberg News Service, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post, and has appeared on The Today Show, CBS News and National Public Radio. 

In November of 2006, Mr. Coogan was invited by the National Surface Transportation Policy and Revenue Study Commission to testify at its Field Hearing, held in New York City on November 16, 2006.
E-mail: cooganmatt@aol.com


Philipp Engedal - Adminstration Director, Flytoget AS
Philipp Engedal joined Flytoget in 2017 as Managing Director. Philipp has an MBA from the University of Mannheim, Germany and has previously gained experience from senior management positions in many different industries such food retail, logistics, transport, building supplies manufacturing and public transport. Before joining Flytoget he came from the company Nobina Norway, a subsidiary of the largest public bus operator in the Nordics, where he was acting as Managing Director. 
E-mail: Philipp.Engedal@flytoget.no


Chris Joyce - Head of Surface Access, Heathrow Airport Limited
No biography available for Chris Joyce at this time
E-mail: Chris_Joyce@heathrow.com 


Stephan Mehr 
No biography available for Stephan Mehr at this time.
E-mail: stephan.a.mehr@gmail.com


Mark Walbrun - VP, Practice Leader, Rail & Transit - US East, Mott MacDonald
Mark Walbrun, Vice President of IARO, is a long serving board member and a licensed Professional Engineer in the United States.  He became an expert in airport railway planning and design and throughout his career he was involved in the development of best practices guidance for airport railway projects.

Mark is an accomplished railroad engineering leader who has completed dozens of successful airport railway, passenger railway and freight railroad infrastructure designs.  He managed the design office for Amtrak for the first half of his career and then directed many large rail projects as a Vice President for Rail for major consulting firms.  He also worked on a number of rail transit projects and multi-modal stations including award-winning designs such as Denver Union Station, Chicago Union Station, Washington Union Station, and New York Penn Station.

Mark continues to consult to the industry and was recently honored by the American Railway Engineering and Maintenance of Way Association (where he previously served as President of the predecessor organization) for his work in educating young members on best global practices including operating technical tours and speaking at numerous forums and workshops.  He also chairs the Shared Use Corridor committee at the Transportation Research Board, part of the National Academy of Sciences.

E-mail: mwalbrun@quandel.com

Minutes of Board Meetings: Please go to Members Zone